Who are we?

We are YOU! Transition University of St Andrews is open to anyone living in the area of St Andrews. From being established by a group of Students we have grown to include Students, University staff and wider St Andrews community. To manage our work we have a steering group that is elected annually in March. Whilst we don’t have a formal membership we hold regular Open Forums that anyone is welcome to attend.

To deliver our projects we have also employed a team of staff that are currently based in the Transition Office at 7 Woodburn Terrace on East Sands.

Here’s some more info on a few of the people in Transition’s bustling office!

Alistair MacleodProject Manager

Alistair comes to Transition from the Dundee based charity Solar Cities Scotland where he managed a team of staff delivering behaviour change projects and promoting sustainable energy. Prior to this he was manager of a Development Trust based in Dundee that undertook Social, Physical and Environmental projects in an effort to build a sustainable urban community as part of an £85 million award winning regeneration scheme. After studying a Marine Biology degree at Queen Mary’s  he spent 3 years at sea working for an Environmental charity before settling in London, where he undertook stints at Greenpeace, City Farm and regeneration charity Groundwork. In his spare time he enjoys sailing, working in his allotment and running a local carclub, Wheelshare.


Project Staff 

Food and Water Waste: Franziska Schmidt

Food growing: Brian Gibb

LETS St Andrews: Paul White

Carbon Conversations: Farah Najeeb

Communications: Aiden Bowman


Steering Group Executive Members 2012 – Executive members rotate regularly throughout the year from amongst the steering group.

Joshua Msika - Chair

Lukas Bunse

Rhona McLaren

Shona Russell

Lucy Anderson

David Stutchfield

Steering group